Definition of a Workflow

The Workflow canvas is the core of where Workflow routing, logic, forms, and relationships are configured for each Application. A Workflow lives inside of an Application. Records (i.e. an object you create) move through Applications using Workflows. Each Workflow has a single type of Record that moves through it. 

A Workflow can be thought of as a collection of:

  • Steps (steps in the Application)
  • Fields (specific data points being captured)
  • Routing logic (determines what specific work is performed on an Record at each step and where it moves)

When Should you Create a Separate Workflow?

  • When more than one of a Record needs to be linked to another Record (e.g., Multiple mitigations per risk assessments).
  • When one Record needs to be linked to multiple other Records (e.g., Link controls to both risks and policies). 
  •  If you want to be able to perform activities in parallel (e.g., Send out multiple approval requests at a time).
  • If you want to capture different Due Dates (e.g., "Next Review' Due Date and "Certification of Insurance Expiration" Due Date for a vendor). 

Step-By-Step Guide to Create a New Workflow

  1. To create a new Workflow, click into the Application for which you want to create the Workflow from the “Build -> Applications” section.

2) Click the Create a new workflow button or Shift+Click on the white Workflow canvas and a new dialog will appear.

You may have the option to select the Workflow type if your environment has an integration enabled. The most common option is LogicGate unless you are looking to configure an integration with an external system.

Enter the Workflow name (e.g. ‘Risk Register’) and then the Record Prefix (e.g. ‘Risk’), which is the prefix given to a Record as it moves through the Workflow.

3) To delete a Workflow, a user can click on the Workflow (it will then highlight) and press the Delete key (alternatively, right-click on the Workflow and click Delete in the context menu). A dialog box will pop-up asking to confirm the deletion. Type in the name of the Workflow and click the ‘Delete’ button to permanently remove the Workflow from your Application.

4) To enter a Workflow once it has been created, double click on the Workflow background color (alternatively, right-click on the workflow and click Edit). This will bring the user to the Workflow modal. 

Key Concepts of the Workflow Details / SLA Section:

  • To edit the Workflow name, type it into the Workflow box.
  • To edit the Record Name, type it into the Record Prefix box.
  • Set a Primary Field for your Workflow. This will identify records uniquely and will be a key to helping your end-users quickly find their most Recently Viewed or Favorited records.

5) If there are Steps set up in the Workflow they will be under the Steps tab. 

Key Concepts of the Steps Section:

  • Step – This is the name of the Step.
  • Type – This is the type of Step. Origin – This is the starting point for the Workflow. An Origin Step also indicates whether or not the Create button will display on the home dashboard. Chain – This is a middle Step in the Workflow process. End – This is the last step in the process.
  • You can click-and-drag the steps to re-order them, which feeds into various places throughout the system such as the drop-down boxes requiring the selection of a specific step.

6) You can also setup Workflow mappings on the Maps tab, which allow you to connect and define relationships between this Workflow and another Workflow within your Risk Cloud instance. Refer to the Connecting Workflows Together article to learn more about Workflow Mapping. 

7) Allow User Groups can be enabled under the Access tab to allow for more granular control of individual Records within the Workflow. This is not recommended to be enabled in most cases, as access controls will be restricted through the use of User Roles (via the "Build -> Access->Roles" section) on a step-by-step level. Refer to the Getting Started with User Groups article for more information.

8) Workflow Service Level Agreements (SLA) section can be toggled on by checking the Enable SLA box. A user can either type in the number of days and hours of the Workflow SLA or use the up and down arrows next to the Days and Hours labels.

9) Reset lets you, in bulk, delete all records in the Workflow. Proceed with caution! This cannot be undone.

Next Steps

After creating a Workflow, the next step is to create a Step to house your Fields and other routing logic. See Creating a Step to learn more.

Did this answer your question?