How to deactivate and reactivate user accounts in Risk Cloud.
In order to deactivate or reactivate a user account, you'll need to be granted Admin Module Entitlement via Role. This is often useful for managing your user licenses.
Consequences of Deactivating a User
Once a user is deactivated, the historical data that they filled out in Risk Cloud will be archived. All activity history associated with that user will still be maintained.
For example, if User 1 completed a Mitigation Step and was subsequently deactivated, the overall Risk Owner would still be able to access the Step and see their data.
Additionally, any access that had been granted to that user would still be associated with them (e.g., roles, user groups), but it would be deactivated. In the future, if the user was reactivated then they would be granted the same levels of access as before.
Impact on User Licenses
Historical data and access rights are not associated with licenses, but with individual user accounts. For example, if User 1 was originally using a license but was later deactivated that would simply increase the "available user license count" up by one. If later User 2 was added, the "available user license count" would decrease by one but User 1 and User 2 would not be related in any way.
Reactivating a User
If a previously deactivated user becomes enabled again, the user will be sent an email containing a link to activate their account. The user will follow the same steps as the initial user activation by setting a password and three security questions.
This can also be used if a user has been added but they need a new registration email sent. In this case, deactivate their account and immediately reactivate them through the Users module. The user will be automatically sent a registration email.